Purple Jewelry

Crystal Palace
Jade History
Classification of Jade
Jade Selection Guide
Jade Care
Jade Culture
Sources of Jade
Jade FAQ
Jewelry Glossary
Jewelry Shopping

Crystal palace Banner

Crystal palace Banner
Jadeite jade Jade gems
Classification of Jade

Classify the Jade by chemical consistitution:

There are two types of Jade: nephrite and the less common jadeite, which consists of two separate silicate mineral species.

Nephrite: A silicate of calcium and magnesium, nephrite is classed as an amphibole. Also called "Old Jade". Found in modest Quantities around China in ancient times. Also found in Photon and Yarland in the mountainous Western China, currently autonomous regions north of Tibet and close to Eastern Iran. Nephritic ranges in numerous colors, snowy white, bluish white, yellowish hue, gray, brown, black, green, dark green.

Jadeite: A silicate of sodium and aluminum, jadeite is classed as a pyroxene. Called "New Jade". Fine bright jewelry material that originates in Burma. Also found in other regions. Jadeite contains chromium that appears green, iron component that appears red, and many other colored types. Known as the king of jade, it is usually a more expensive type of jade.

Classification of Jade

Classify the Jadeite by Grade:

A, B, C Jade Type or grade A , B, C , commonly use by jade dealers to identify the different type of treatment of the jade. Not refer the quality grading of the jade.

Grade A
Natural Jade. Undergoes traditional standard process which are not defined as artificial treatments.

Grade B
Natural Jade chemically bleached to remove impurities and then impregnated with polymer to enhance translucency. This treatment damages the structure integrity of the jade.

Grade C
Natural Jade treated with enhanced color.

Grade B+C
Dye colored and Polymer impregnated Jade.

Last Modified: 11/19/2017. Copyright © 11/19/2017, Crystal palace Poempalace.org. All rights reserved.